

Indiana Registry of Soil Scientists

Office of Indiana State Chemist, Purdue University 175 S. University St., West Lafayette, IN 47907-2063 Phone: 765-494-1492; Fax: 765-494-4331 www.oisc.purdue.edu/irss



IRSS Board Meeting Minutes

Location of Meeting:	Mike Salem Farm Brown County, IN
Date:	May 18, 2017
<u>Time</u> :	4:00 pm

Board members present:

Dave Lefforge, Dr. Gary Steinhardt, Tom Eickholtz, Spencer Williams & John Bonsett

Others present:

Mike Salem, John Bowen, Jerry Shively and Trish Dunn (OISC)

The meeting was called to order at 4:00. Minutes of the March 3, 2017 meeting were approved as presented. There was no treasurers report presented at this meeting

Gary Steinhardt reported that in conversation with Denise Daniels from the State Department of Health a job description for a State soil scientist was being developed. At this time, however, the position is on hold awaiting funding approval.

David discussed a disagreement between soil scientists related to a soil report that called for a more restrictive type of septic system. In conversation with the local health department Dave advised it is best to address the characteristics noted in the more restrictive soil report due to contaminated ground water issues that already exist in that area. The health department will take action on this issue.

David read the Review Panels report regarding the complaint against Jerry Shively at the Pribyla property in Clay County. The findings of the review panels report was discussed. There was evidence that the site had previously been altered. Wetness limitations were identified by the Panel and by Shively. There were inconsistencies between the reports by the Panel and Shively but no actions against Shively were recommended by the Panel. Jerry Shively responded to the Panel report and compared his original report of the site. There was a motion and a second to dismiss the complaint. The motion passed.

There was discussion of future events where the Board plans to man a table display, but no actions were voted on.

These minutes are respectfully submitted by John Bonsett and David Lefforge

Meeting adjourned at 5:33 pm

Respectfully submitted by: Matt Pearson Administrative Advisor to the Board